Review | Degustabox July 2017

I always look forward to our monthly Degustabox delivery. I love being surprised with what’s inside, finding little gems and products that we’d like to add to our store cupboard on a regular basis. I’ve been doing Degustabox unboxing reviews for a while now and I’m rarely disappointed with them. You can guarantee Jamie will help with the unboxing process and start it with a “oh, it’s not as good as last month’s”, but usually that’s because it’s not given it half a chance yet. Here’s this month’s ‘Summer Degustabox’ review  – don’t forget, for a £7 discount on your first box use code ‘DMTF4’.

Blossom Hill Spritz (£4.99)

Blossom Hill used to be my wine of choice when I was a bigger drinker some years ago. This product is only included in the alcoholic version of the Degustabox and it comes in two flavours; raspberry and blackcurrant, and elderflower and lemon. Degustabox highly recommend that you try it over ice with your choice of mixed fruit which sounds divine.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review blossom hill spritz raspberry and blackcurrant

It really is quite ‘spritzy’ and I love the natural choice of flavouring. We had the raspberry and blackcurrant one and I would definitely be up for trying the elderflower and lemon one. I can imagine this will go down really well at BBQs and any other social gatherings. All we need now is for the sun to make an appearance.

Crafted Fruit Juice Drink (£1.80)

Fruit juice is one of my favourite things but we rarely have it in the house because it goes like water. However, I do love having it around for the kids, especially Toby as he doesn’t eat any fruit. We had the mango and passionfruit flavour in our Degustabox but this is only the beginning of the range, and one I’m really quite excited about.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review crafted by cracker drinks co mango and passion fruit juice drink

The flavours all sound incredible. Crafted use a blend of complementary and unique flavours such as pineapple, coconut and lime,  and apple, mint and lime. The one I’d like to try the most right now is the still, cloudy lemonade. Providing one of your five a day and with no added sugar or sweeteners in any of the drinks these are a sure winner.

Ryvita Cheese Thins (£1.89)

Oh gosh, you can’t go wrong with a good snack can you? Even better if it’s a cheesy snack. I quite like Ryvita Thins anyway so for them to bring out a cheesy variant makes me really happy. Topped with Cheddar, Regato and Emmental cheese this is really quite exciting and is sure to shake up any boring lunch time.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review rafita cheese thins flatbreads

Eat them with a little bit of butter, a bit of pickle on the side or even use them in a dip (Degustabox recommend a salsa dip but they’re yummy in hummus too!). They’re super delicious, aren’t too dry and have the perfect crunch!

Rowntree’s Randoms 30% Less Sugar (£1.29)

Sweeties! Yes! Rowntree’s have been a household name for years and they’re still making the most delicious sweets, only this time they’re with 30% less sugar. As someone who has reduced their sugar intake, this pleases me quite a lot especially when these are sweets we all know and love and yet we don’t have to compromise on the quality or how they taste.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review rowntress 30% less sugar randoms fruity

We took these on our little road trip to Alton Towers at the weekend and they were a hit when we needed a little boost during the drive. Our favourites had the slightly ‘jammy’ texture inside. You can also get Fruit Pastilles in 30% less sugar variety and I haven’t had those for years! I might just have to go and get a packet.

OLOVES Healthy Olive Snacks (£0.99)

Olives have become a very recent love of mine. I had never liked them until I tried them at Jamie Oliver’s restaurant a couple of years back and now I’m happy to sit and pick at olives – although this only tends to be at restaurants rather than at home. These little OLOVES snack packs are great because they’re low in calories and are perfect for ‘on-the-go’ people.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review oloves healthy snack small pack

With a hint of chilli, garlic and oregano they’re a burst of flavour and with no stones it makes for the perfect snack wherever you are. They’re a little taste sensation.

Merchant Gourmet Simply Cooked Red & White Quinoa (£1.99)

I remember a time when we ate quite a lot of quinoa. We certainly had a phase of loving it and then it kind of trailed off. Quinoa is a great alternative to rice or cous cous and it works well in so many things. This particular packet of quinoa is cooked and ready to go and it’s been kept really simple; a dash of water and a drizzle of olive oil. It doesn’t pack a huge punch but it is incredibly tasty and is a great base for salads.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review merchant gourmet red and white quinoa simply cooked roast vegetable salad

We’re having a BBQ this weekend and I’m going to be creating a side salad with this quinoa along with some roasted vegetables mixed in which I think will be divine! I love that you don’t have to faff around trying to cook the quinoa as it’s already done for you – bonus!

FryLight Cooking Spray With Avocado Oil (£2.99)

We are a FryLight family already so I was quite interested to know that they’ve bought out an avocado one. FryLight is renowned for being the ‘1 calorie’ cooking spray and made quite an impact on the ‘cooking oil’ market when it was released. I use the sunflower one for roast potatoes, frying off meat and lots of other cooking jobs.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review fry light avocado 1 cal low calorie spray oil

I love that this avocado spray doesn’t actually taste much of avocado because I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of it. However, I love that you don’t have to literally drench everything in oil and then cook it. I’m yet to master using it for Yorkshire puddings though. I’ll keep you updated with that one. The FryLight sprays last for absolutely ages and you can give everything an even coat before cooking and there’s no runny oil to try and get rid of afterwards.

Weetabix Additions Coconut & Raisin (£2.99)

I’ll admit I haven’t tasted these yet. They sound incredible but, and that’s a huge ‘but’, I don’t like cereal. I haven’t eaten cereal since I was a toddler and I don’t intend to start now so I’m leaving this one down to the kids and Jamie. Weetabix is one of the nation’s favourite cereals and they now have delicious fruits baked into every bite.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review new weetabix coconut and raisin cereal breakfast

I love the sound of the coconut in there because I think that’s something I can totally get on board with. I’m going to have to find another way to eat/use these without drowning them in milk!

Maille Dijon Mustard (£1.99)

We honestly don’t use mustard enough in our cooking. One of our favourite meals has mustard in the sauce and I love it over pork chops and in sandwiches but most of the time it gets looked over. Maille have been crafting their mustard for 270 years and it’d be rude to leave it to sit in the cupboard.

degustabox summer box july 2017 review maille dijon mustard

Maille have some incredible recipe ideas and I’m going to try the steak recipe that’s been suggested in the Degustabox. It’s said to ‘subtly’ enhance the flavour of any dish and I can’t wait to get it on my plate!

The Collective Kids Big Tub Yoghurt (£2.00)

Unfortunately, we’re unable to get hold of this product as our nearest stockist is a good 30 mile round trip and, as they’re towards the coast, it’s a nightmare in the traffic so would take us much longer than usual. I received a voucher to enable us to purchase it but for the above reasons the voucher is very much still stuck on the fridge. I guess that’s what you get for living in Norfolk, although what’s most disappointing is that the particular stockist doesn’t cater for most of our town, it’s a smaller outlet.

The Degustabox description says “it’s made with whole milk and fruit with no added nasties. It was created with kids palates in mind with no bits or pips, and packed with fruit – it’s the perfect snack or healthy dessert’. I’d have really loved to have tried this! Fingers crossed we get a closer stockist soon.

*I received this product in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

5 Comments

  1. August 6, 2017 / 10:21 am

    What a delicious combination of products – the Weetabix, ryvita thins and avocado oil really stand out as products I’d like to try :)

  2. August 5, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    Good selection this month! Love it.

  3. August 5, 2017 / 9:48 am

    I’ve never heard of Degusta box but I’m now googling it! It’s such a wonderful idea, I would enjoy it

  4. August 4, 2017 / 10:41 pm

    Oooh, these look fab… I’ve never actually heard of degustabox before…. (although should I admit that I actually read it as disgusta box… Ooops)

  5. August 2, 2017 / 9:35 am

    Ooooo…I love the blossom hill Spritz wine and those cheese thins from ryvita just might have to be popped into my shopping basket next time I do a food shop. They look lush!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *