Review | Degustabox March 2017

My favourite time of the month came round again last week and our Degustabox didn’t disappoint. This was the Easter box and it was full of lots of treats, but also with a few little healthy extras. After all, it’s about balancing everything out right? As usual, my husband couldn’t wait to get it open although I’d already had a sneaky peek of the contents. So what was so good about this month’s Degustabox? Well.. let’s see what was inside.

Heinz (Seriously) Good Sauce

I love a good peppercorn sauce with my steak, or even over pork chops, so when these little pot of magic turned up, I couldn’t wait to try it. We were due to have beef stroganoff but changed it to steak, veg and sweet potato chips and decided we’d pop this over our steaks that evening. I initially thought it was a bit too peppery but once you’ve got it with your steak, chips and veg it’s utterly delicious. It’s not a hot pepper, but it has that first kick and then settles down into this nice, creamy sauce that you just want over and over again. I loved this and it’s a great alternative to my home made one. And you don’t need to use the whole jar in one go either!

degustabox review march 2017 heinz seriously good creamy pepper sauce with steak raising the rings

degustabox review march 2017 heinz seriously good creamy pepper sauce with steak raising the rings sweet potato chips and broccoli

Pipers Crisp Co – Cider Vinegar + Sea Salt

Pipers crisps are definitely a brand that I’m familiar with. Seasoned with flavours sourced from passionate named producers these are crisps as they should taste. I’ve never come across a packet that is just full of crumbs, unlike some of the other big brands, and the flavour of these are amazing. If you’re a crisp sandwich lover then you’d love these. They’re thick, almost perfectly shaped and without a doubt a taste sensation. I loved that they’ve used cider vinegar to flavour these because it gives it that added kick!

degustabox review march 2017 pipers crisp co burrow hill cider vinegar and sea salt posh crisps raising the rings

Weetabix – On The Go

My two boys would live off of Weetabix if they could! With lots of energy, fibre and protein packed in to two Weetabix biscuits, these bottles pack exactly the same punch as a bowl of them would. These are great for the days when you’re running late, need an on-the-go snack to keep you going, or you just need breakfast in the car. Plus, it means you don’t have to compromise having a proper breakfast!

degustabox review march 2017 weetabix on the go protein breakfast drink vanilla blueberry and blackberry energy fibre protein raising the rings

Cadbury Dairy Milk Oreo + £onepounders Chocolate Eclairs

Alright, onto some sweeter stuff now – chocolate! Oh yes, oh yes, how yummy do these Cadbury bars sound? Hello? Peanut butter oreos in chocolate? My husband actually decided he couldn’t even wait for me to photograph that particular bar and had already opened it before I’d gotten the picture. Fortunately, these Cadbury bars are for him because I’m not a huge fan of peanut butter or mint but I know so many people that are and, while they sound amazing, I couldn’t get too excited about them.

degustabox review march 2017 £onepounders chocolate eclairs dairy milk oreo peanut butter mint flavour new raising the rings

I’ve never heard of £onepounders before, but they are a range of over 65 confectionary products that range from chocolates, chews, fudge, gums, jellies and much more; and they’re all only £1. These chocolate eclairs are pretty moreish and creamy and if they’re only £1 a pack, I’ll take a few more please.

Gusto Organic Lemon Energy + Whitworths Super Cacao Raw Bar

I am really into anything lemon flavoured at the moment, it’s so refreshing. Lemon drizzle cake, lemon sweets, lemon squash and so this bottle of lemon energy was a very welcome find in this month’s Degustabox. Designed for adults, this drink is an energising blend of whole crushed Sicilian lemons mixed with some other wonderful ingredients to create a soft drink that ‘delivers taste, stimulation and wellbeing’. It’s really refreshing, perfect when it’s just come out of the fridge and it’s definitely worth adding a bit of lemonade to it too.

degustabox review march 2017 gusto organic lemon energy drink sicilian lemons whitworths cacao raw bars tasty raising the rings

The Whitworths bars are crammed full of delicious almonds, flakes of coconut, golden flax seeds, chia seeds, quinoa and acai. They’re gluten free, soy free and suitable for vegetarians. I was actually expecting the bar to be a bit dry but it was really nice and was perfect to sit down to with a cup of tea mid-afternoon.

Westons Cider – Pure Hopped + Dry Cider Blend

Since Spring has set in over the last few days the sunshine has been out, at least for an hour or so each day, and it’d be rude not to have a little cider in the sun, wouldn’t it? Luckily, in this month’s Degustabox I was sent two cans of Weston Cider. Cider should, in my opinion, be served ice cold and this dry cider blend is a complex, dry cider which has been matured for up to 18 months. It’s really crisp and hits all the right notes. It is quite tart, but it’s enjoyably so.

degustabox review march 2017 westons cider in the sun caple rd dry cider blend no 5 5% delicious crisp fresh drinks in the summer raising the rings

Naturelly, Maldon Smoked Sea Salt Flakes + The Jelly Bean Factory

All three of these products are ones that I’ve heard of before, but not ones I’ve ever had the chance of trying. Since we have two boys I did offer them the chance of trying the Naturelly, but my eldest turned it down (shocker) and the little one scoffed it. It’s a fun and refreshing jelly snack that’s perfect to pop into a lunchbox, or to have in the changing bag for on the go. They’d make a pretty good dessert too.

degustabox review march 2017 the jelly bean factory jellybeans beans naturelly jelly juice apple and blackcurrant maldon oak smoked sea salt original raising the rings

The Maldon sea salt flakes are so, so yummy! I’m a big lover of salt but try not to add it into my cooking too often. These are great sprinkled over a ciabatta with some garlic butter and then lightly toasted. They’re a great dish finisher rather than adding them into your cooking and I love the oak smoked flavour!

The jelly beans contain 36 gourmet flavours (it’s almost like Harry Potter!) and each jelly bean is made using natural flavours. They’re free from a lot of things and are Fairtrade – which is fab. Super tasty and perfect for a little sweet hit during the day. I’ll be keeping these in my hand bag.

Rebel Kitchen Chocolate Mylk

You put the cacao in the coconut, you drink it all up! Rebel Kitchen ‘mylks’ are so easy you could make them yourself! This superbly delicious and chocolatey drink is the king of chocolate milk. It’s so yummy that even my kids liked it! It’s dairy free and totally organic and it’s suitable for vegans and vegetarians. An absolute diamond find in this month’s Degustabox.

 

*These products were sent to me in the Degustabox for March 2017. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

2 Comments

  1. March 29, 2017 / 11:54 am

    We tried a Degustabox quote some time ago but didn’t get on with it. It looks as though the quality has improved, I might need to give it another go.

    • raisingtherings
      March 29, 2017 / 12:11 pm

      We’ve had the last three boxes and I think they’re definitely worth a little punt every month. It’s just a little box of luxuries really. There are some things in there that we haven’t liked, and others that we’ve loved but I guess that’s the luck of the draw x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *