Review | An Elf For Christmas

I don’t think it’s any secret that Christmas is one of my most favourite times of the year. There’s just something about it that makes me feel all fuzzy and warm inside. It’s starting to become a lot more magical, especially with the boys getting to enjoy it with us now. They are both still a little young to totally ‘get it’ but Toby definitely knew something was different last year and I suspect he’ll be much more aware this year.

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas

So this year we’ll be doing letters to and from Father Christmas and starting our very own traditions. Christmas Eve boxes filled with goodies and I think this year Toby, and possibly Teddy, might like to get to know ‘An Elf For Christmas’.

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas

I first came across these cute elves at BlogOn in Manchester a few weeks ago and I knew there and then it was one of those things I wanted to do with the boys; not only to start a new tradition, but also give myself a chance to get a little bit more creative that I currently am.

This little elf will be getting into mischief all while keeping an eye on Toby in the lead up to Christmas (and maybe throughout the year!) and they’ll be sending daily reports back to Father Christmas. If they’re good the elves will be rewarding the boys, but if they’re not they’ll end up on the naughty list and no child wants that!

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas

This gorgeous elf set obviously comes with an elf; you can choose either a boy or a girl. These are limited edition toys that are unique to ‘An Elf For Christmas’ and they are so adorable. They’re super soft with velcro on the hands so you can wrap them around things (handy) and they’re dressed very traditionally in festive colours and our boy is wearing the cutest dungarees with a super smile on his face.

Included is an arrival letter from ‘Santa’ which tells the kids why the elf is there (perfect opportunity for you add a few bits in if you want them to be super good) and it’s designed to be personalised with your child’s name which I always think is a really lovely touch.

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas

There are also report cards so good behaviour can be monitored but there are also two ‘warning cards’ in case you need to wave the ‘naughty list’ around a little bit. And since there are two letter templates we can definitely draw up a letter to send to the North Pole this year.

Not only that but there are also some cute elf stickers, which Toby will absolutely love as he’s really into stickers at the moment. And not to miss are the nice list certificates and thank you card! One other little feature I really like about ‘An Elf For Christmas’ is that you can register your elf and you’ll receive personalised emails from Santa Claus himself (yes, really!).

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas

Obviously this is a little bit like elf on the shelf but with ‘An Elf For Christmas’ there really is no pressure to do something with them every day. It’s purely an idea to promote good behaviour in the lead up to Christmas and I find these much less scary and weird looking! I love that these elves are smiley, inviting and just all round cute – and they have their own little book; ‘Elf’s First Adventure’.

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas elf first adventure book

an elf for christmas review elf on the shelf traditional modern boy girl competition giveaway win christmas activities ideas elf first adventure book

It’s about an elf who helps Santa prepare for Christmas and then heads out on his own adventure to spread Christmas magic, fun and kindness. He finds a little girl and little boy who can’t wait to welcome him into their home. It’s such a lovely book and one I’ll definitely be reading to the boys throughout December. It’s a rhyming book with a good flow and one that will really engage the kids!

If you’d like to make Christmas super magical this year with ‘An Elf For Christmas’ then I have the chance for you to win your very own elf!

*I was sent this product in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

151 Comments

  1. paula cheadle
    November 10, 2016 / 11:10 pm

    Elfie

  2. Natalie Crossan
    November 10, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    Eddie

  3. Anneka Hulse
    November 10, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    sparky the elf

  4. November 10, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    I think he should be called Alan. :)

  5. wendy jamieson-price
    November 10, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    alfie

  6. Claire
    November 10, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    My son said he should be called elf because he is an elf, can’t fault his logic

  7. Tracey F
    November 10, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    Emmy snuffle-chops! Well I asked my 3 year old!

  8. sarah rowland
    November 10, 2016 / 7:41 pm

    My son says he is Mr Wise old Elf pants

  9. Alison Clark
    November 10, 2016 / 6:53 pm

    Elveista – strange name but its the one that came to me :)

  10. Kathryn vyse
    November 10, 2016 / 6:36 pm

    My son is called Alfie and thinks elfie is a good name

  11. November 10, 2016 / 6:08 pm

    Patch after the elf in my favourite movie Santa Claus The Movie

  12. Sara lock
    November 10, 2016 / 6:04 pm

    I think Eddie????

  13. Sara lock
    November 10, 2016 / 6:04 pm

    I think Eddie????

  14. tina edwards
    November 10, 2016 / 5:40 pm

    i think it should be named elvis

  15. Paul Brear
    November 10, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    Ellie Green

  16. Nicole S.
    November 10, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    TinselToes :)

  17. Yvonne Wilkinson
    November 10, 2016 / 4:14 pm

    Elfis

  18. Claire
    November 10, 2016 / 4:10 pm

    Tinsel

  19. Hayley Todd
    November 10, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    I think your Elf should be called Evergreen Elf!

  20. Caoimhe Clarke
    November 10, 2016 / 2:54 pm

    Eccles

  21. Lynsie Lynn
    November 10, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    Edmond :) Thanks for the chance :)

  22. Jo McPherson
    November 10, 2016 / 2:33 pm

    Evie

  23. Rebecca Lis
    November 10, 2016 / 1:49 pm

    McJingles

  24. Tiffeny Brown
    November 10, 2016 / 1:48 pm

    I love christmas too and these elves are so cute! You should call yours Elfie :) x

  25. annette slater
    November 10, 2016 / 1:14 pm

    Mr. Mischief

  26. Claire Davey
    November 10, 2016 / 11:38 am

    elfred cos think it proper cute name

  27. Maria Jane Knight
    November 10, 2016 / 11:24 am

    Elvis

  28. kelly morgan
    November 10, 2016 / 11:21 am

    Twinkle the elf.

  29. Carly Belsey
    November 10, 2016 / 10:32 am

    Egbert the Elf. He’s cute, I really want to get my daughter one this year :-)

  30. Laura Corrall
    November 10, 2016 / 10:20 am

    Albert the Elf.

  31. Laura Harrison
    November 10, 2016 / 10:11 am

    Elfie xx

  32. jen lloyd
    November 10, 2016 / 9:45 am

    brian the elf

  33. karen watt
    November 10, 2016 / 7:40 am

    Ralph

  34. Rachel King
    November 10, 2016 / 7:26 am

    Mischief

  35. Faye Lester
    November 10, 2016 / 3:07 am

    Burt

  36. Rich Tyler
    November 10, 2016 / 12:27 am

    Stanley

  37. Sam parkes
    November 9, 2016 / 10:34 pm

    Mr Dibbles

  38. laura pyper
    November 9, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    my little girl says Elfie

  39. Tee simpson
    November 9, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    Call him Tom

  40. Sheri Darby
    November 9, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Elfy McElf Face

  41. Emma Fox
    November 9, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    Edward Elf :)

  42. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 9, 2016 / 6:46 pm

    Russell Sprouts

  43. Angie McDonald
    November 9, 2016 / 6:34 pm

    I think you should name your elf Jeremy

  44. sion gibby
    November 9, 2016 / 5:16 pm

    i think the “elf” is short for “elfreddo!”

  45. Caroline J Robinson
    November 9, 2016 / 3:56 pm

    Miles ….because he may travel miles on his festive journey

  46. Wendy Guy
    November 9, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    Evergreen.

  47. Kim M
    November 9, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    Eric x

  48. Stevie
    November 9, 2016 / 2:20 pm

    How about Randy.

  49. Jo W
    November 9, 2016 / 2:13 pm

    Eldridge

  50. katrina adams
    November 9, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    Tinsel – I know it’s cliché but I think it should be something festive.

  51. Karen Knox
    November 9, 2016 / 11:41 am

    I’ve just asked my daughter, she says it should be called Bunny!

  52. samantha price
    November 9, 2016 / 11:35 am

    his name would have to be Bob

  53. Lucy Carter
    November 9, 2016 / 11:04 am

    Edwin

  54. Jenny Rogers
    November 9, 2016 / 10:10 am

    Freddy for your boy elf, Felicity for a girl elf.

  55. rebecca smith
    November 9, 2016 / 10:05 am

    Eddy!

  56. Heather Tinkler
    November 8, 2016 / 11:58 pm

    Looks like a Toby to me!

  57. Amber Rossi
    November 8, 2016 / 9:48 pm

    Barrie

  58. AnnaH
    November 8, 2016 / 9:17 pm

    Marcus

  59. Deborah Mackenzie
    November 8, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Elvin

  60. Pamela Gossage
    November 8, 2016 / 3:52 pm

    Cheeky

  61. Sarah Wilson
    November 8, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    Elfie (my son is Alfie)

  62. Sarah H
    November 8, 2016 / 2:52 pm

    He looks a little like a cheeky Charlie! ♥

  63. Cathy
    November 8, 2016 / 1:58 pm

    Harvey after my little boy. He has the same cheeky and mischievous face ????

  64. Diana
    November 8, 2016 / 1:23 pm

    Santiago

  65. leighanne palfrey
    November 8, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    freddie the frienly elf :)

  66. Nataliejane
    November 8, 2016 / 10:43 am

    Eddy

  67. Kim Neville
    November 8, 2016 / 10:00 am

    Darshee

  68. Andrea Smith
    November 7, 2016 / 11:02 pm

    GandELF

  69. donna l jones
    November 7, 2016 / 9:29 pm

    henry

  70. Thomas Buchanan
    November 7, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    captain dave

  71. Allan Fullarton
    November 7, 2016 / 5:57 pm

    Chez

  72. Tricia Cowell
    November 7, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    Joe

  73. gemma hendry
    November 7, 2016 / 2:28 pm

    otis the elf

  74. Saran Benjamin
    November 7, 2016 / 1:47 pm

    Albert

  75. Jayne Townson
    November 7, 2016 / 1:17 pm

    I think he should be called Fred. Thanks for the lovely giveaway.

  76. Sharon Jackson
    November 6, 2016 / 9:35 pm

    I think he should be called “North” it’s where he came from the North Pole :)

  77. Rebecca Cusick
    November 6, 2016 / 5:55 pm

    Buddy the elf! Perfect name for an elf x

  78. Kat Allinson
    November 6, 2016 / 5:04 pm

    Cedric?

  79. Liam Stephens
    November 5, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    Elfie mc elf face seems ok to me.

  80. Tracy Gladman
    November 5, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    Bryony (from Arthur Christmas – as she just loves a bow!)

  81. Emma Gibson
    November 4, 2016 / 8:59 pm

    Elvis

  82. JULIE WARD
    November 4, 2016 / 4:47 pm

    Selfie, I know its not brilliant is it

  83. Kursad Ozekin
    November 4, 2016 / 12:12 am

    Elfie

  84. Mary Duncan
    November 3, 2016 / 11:44 pm

    I love the suggestion ‘Elfie McElfface’ but I think he should be called Forrest, I like the name and it makes me think of Scandinavian countries full of pine forrests, where elves come from.

  85. Jodie Harvey
    November 3, 2016 / 8:05 pm

    Buddy!

  86. Magdalene Drummond
    November 3, 2016 / 7:43 pm

    Rory

  87. sue johnson
    November 3, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    Alfie

  88. MANDY DOHERTY
    November 3, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    My grandsons who are two said he’s called Elfy

  89. Sally Collingwood
    November 3, 2016 / 4:28 pm

    Elfie munchkin!

  90. Emilia nastaly-howard
    November 3, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    Alfred :)

  91. Jo Carroll
    November 3, 2016 / 11:55 am

    My little boy names his toys by picking up a book and choosing a page number then gives his new toy the first proper name that is mentioned. My only advice is to choose a good book 😉 Dobby’s a good name…but I think it’s already been taken?

  92. Emma
    November 3, 2016 / 8:09 am

    I think Elfie would be cute :)

  93. Solange
    November 3, 2016 / 3:56 am

    Amadeus

  94. Victoria Thurgood
    November 2, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    Jolly

  95. November 2, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Hubert came to mind, I like silly old names hehe! x

  96. Lauren Fox
    November 2, 2016 / 6:50 pm

    Cookie because he is sweet 😀

  97. Sarah Lee
    November 2, 2016 / 1:04 pm

    Elfie McElf Face!

  98. pc1974
    November 2, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    enfield

  99. Lorraine Stone
    November 2, 2016 / 11:59 am

    EMMETT

  100. Richard Jeffs
    November 2, 2016 / 11:53 am

    i would call him patch

  101. jules eley
    November 2, 2016 / 11:18 am

    Elvis

  102. Jennifer Toal
    November 2, 2016 / 11:06 am

    Willfred

  103. Jennifer Haden
    November 2, 2016 / 9:56 am

    Hmm, I think Elfie the Elf from Elfland would be nice 😀 x

  104. Nigel Rummey
    November 2, 2016 / 9:55 am

    Norbert

  105. Lucy Chester
    November 2, 2016 / 8:14 am

    Eddie

  106. Kym Robson
    November 2, 2016 / 3:01 am

    Elfie

  107. Ali Thorpe
    November 1, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    Ernie seems fun.

  108. EJ Dunn
    November 1, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    Evergreen

  109. Laura Bryant
    November 1, 2016 / 10:16 pm

    Elvis

  110. Simone Bishop
    November 1, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    Buddy! 😛

  111. KATHY D
    November 1, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    Franky

  112. Sarah Archibald
    November 1, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    Ezra! Fab name :) I love the idea of having an elf over christmas .

  113. Andrea Fletcher
    November 1, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    Norman

  114. Susan Smith
    November 1, 2016 / 8:35 pm

    Smiley

  115. Jessica Woods
    November 1, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    Eric :)

  116. laura banks
    November 1, 2016 / 7:54 pm

    erbert the elf

  117. Christine Stephens
    November 1, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    I would call him Eli the elf

  118. Siobhan Davis
    November 1, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    Elvis the Elf xx

  119. John Edwards
    November 1, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    How about Elfvis ????

  120. Rebecca Duncan
    November 1, 2016 / 7:06 pm

    Bert!

  121. Hannah Scudder
    November 1, 2016 / 6:50 pm

    Buddy

  122. Nicola Lynch
    November 1, 2016 / 6:29 pm

    These sound so magical. I want one for my little boy after reading your post! As for a name, how about Mistletoe?

  123. Stacey Carnell
    November 1, 2016 / 6:12 pm

    Elliot :)

  124. Ray Becker
    November 1, 2016 / 5:47 pm

    Frank

  125. Sally Hay
    November 1, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    I think your elf would suit the name Nigel,

  126. Annabel Greaves
    November 1, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    Raymond

  127. emma walters
    November 1, 2016 / 5:11 pm

    I think bob is a great name for an elf! :)

  128. Jo Hutchinson
    November 1, 2016 / 5:09 pm

    Alfie the Elf

  129. caroline walliss
    November 1, 2016 / 4:47 pm

    Fred

  130. James Harris
    November 1, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    I think you should name the elf National, like National ‘Elf, something we all rely on at some point in our lives.

  131. bella smyth
    November 1, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    Elfie

  132. Lisa Wilkinson
    November 1, 2016 / 4:24 pm

    Fred

  133. Marycarol
    November 1, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    Sid xx

  134. Michaela Smith
    November 1, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    I would call him Tinsel :)

  135. lucy higgins
    November 1, 2016 / 3:32 pm

    Ernie

  136. laura stewart
    November 1, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    Billy!! :)

  137. keri brooks
    November 1, 2016 / 2:33 pm

    Billy the elf cause he can be a silly Billy love the idea

  138. keri brooks
    November 1, 2016 / 2:33 pm

    Billy the elf cause he can be a silly Billy love the idea

  139. Rebecca Nisbet
    November 1, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    Elfred!

  140. Susan Sargent
    November 1, 2016 / 2:20 pm

    Alfie

  141. Tracy Nixon
    November 1, 2016 / 2:03 pm

    Andy!

  142. clair downham
    November 1, 2016 / 1:52 pm

    eddie

  143. November 1, 2016 / 1:46 pm

    I think the elf should be named Ethan elf, it’s modern fresh and my girls think it’s an awesome elf name.

  144. iain maciver
    November 1, 2016 / 1:27 pm

    ernie

  145. November 1, 2016 / 1:07 pm

    A lovely review. i’ve already been online window shopping for an elf for this December. My eldest would love the idea I think! Thanks for sharing :) xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *