Review + Giveaway | Learning Resources Counting Cows + Alphabet Building Blocks

Toby has been learning a lot more about numbers and letters recently, and Teddy has been trying to join in too! So in a bid to keep the ball rolling and the kids interested, when Learning Resources contacted me to ask if I’d like to review any of their new toys, I opted for something that I thought would help.

Learning Resources Snap-n-Learn Counting Cows

Suitable for ages 2-6 this pull apart set of 10 cows is really fun to play with. The heads consist of a physical number and the tails have the correlating amount of patches on so that they need to be matched up. However, one problem I found with this is that the cows have different colours on them and Toby kind of cheats because he will match the colours, rather than the numbers to the amount of spots. So to stop that we get him to look at the number, and then count the spots one by one to see if it matches. If they don’t match, or he gets it wrong, then we don’t let him snap them together.

Learning resources snap n learn counting cows educational toys for home essentials development motor skills counting age 2+

Having said that, colour recognition is one of the games you can play with these cows if numbers are bit too advanced, and there are 10 different colours in total. These snap-n-learn cows not only develop numbers and vocabulary but also fine motor skills – which is especially good for Teddy at the moment.

Learning resources snap n learn counting cows educational toys for home essentials development motor skills counting age 2+

These cows can also be used for imaginative play. We like to pretend we’re on a farm and the cows come along with lots of other animals which prompts further discussions about other topics.

This set comes in a handy storage bucket, which is great as you don’t have to buy anything separate and are a wonderful addition to the Learning Resources range. Toby is always excited to get these out and do some counting and they’re pretty robust too so they won’t break easily, if at all!

Learning resources snap n learn counting cows educational toys for home essentials development motor skills counting age 2+

Learning Resources Alphabet Building Blocks

Toby’s interest in letters has stemmed from his desire to write his own name. The team at his nursery have been helping Toby to do lots of tracing, especially over his name, which he loves. The alphabet building blocks set is designed to engage young children into some early stages literacy activities.

The letters are plastic and can be used for a range of things. I started by seeing if Toby could recognise any of the letters that were in his name and then went from there. We did eventually spell it out together while making all the sounds, and we progressed into other peoples’ names too.

The letters are a good size for small children to handle and the set includes 36 letters in total and are super colourful. All the vowels are in red so they’re easily identifiable which is really good. Toby’s favourite thing to do with the letters was stack them. They’ve been slightly squashed so they all have flat surfaces which allow them to be put on top of each other to build a tower which helps develop their fine motor skills too.

review and giveaway Learning resources alphabet building blocks colourful educational toys for home essentials development motor skills literacy spelling age 2+

The backs of the letters are open to allow for stamping and any other creative play. Use them to stamp in Playdoh, sand and bubbles. They’d also be great for playing with in the water, so get them outdoors or throw them in the bath – they won’t get mouldy inside because they’re all open. Tracing around them would be good if you wanted to get a bit more arty with them. The letters come with a storage bag (hallelujah!) as otherwise I’d not know how to store them.

These Alphabet Blocks are an endless resource of learning, especially when it comes to kids who Toby’s age and it seems even more important to get him learning these things as he starts school in September!

So if you’re looking for some new toys ahead of the new school year in September or simply want to do something educational and fun at home, give these a go! You can see what else is new in the range here or you can win yourself an Alphabet Building Blocks set! Just enter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and Conditions

  • This competition will open on 13th March and will close on 2nd April at 11.59pm
  • One winner will be selected at random
  • One winner will receive a Learning Resources Alphabet Building Blocks set
  • No cash alternative will be offered
  • The winner will be announced on Raising the Rings social media outlets, not the blog
  • The winner will have 28 days to respond to their winner’s email

*I was sent these products in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

review and giveaway Learning resources alphabet building blocks colourful educational toys for home essentials development motor skills literacy spelling age 2+

Follow:

81 Comments

  1. Gemma Cook
    April 2, 2017 / 11:33 pm

    Would love to win this for our little boy.

  2. Danielle graves
    April 2, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    I’d love them for my son they are so bright and colourful and great for learning

  3. Tammy Neal
    April 2, 2017 / 11:22 pm

    Would love this for my niece xx

  4. samantha buntain
    April 2, 2017 / 10:15 pm

    I would love this for my little boy he’s just at that age to start learning x

  5. Farhana
    April 2, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    I’d love to win for my son who will be starting reception in September and is busy learning the alphabets through playing

  6. Farhana
    April 2, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    I’d love to win for my son who will be starting reception in September and is busy learning the alphabets through learning

  7. Lia Burns
    April 2, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    I would love to win these for my little girl Jessica x

  8. Andrew Hindley
    April 2, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    Would love to win for my grandson

  9. carol boffey
    April 2, 2017 / 6:13 pm

    my cousins kids

  10. Joanne Etchells
    April 2, 2017 / 5:15 pm

    I’d love to win for my little boy Jacob who’s learning to count and add up.

  11. Kate Davies
    April 2, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    I’d love to win for my son.

  12. H Gutowsk
    April 2, 2017 / 4:49 pm

    For my grandson, who is nearly 4.

  13. karl Borowy
    April 2, 2017 / 2:58 pm

    Grandson

  14. Julie Edwards
    April 2, 2017 / 1:53 pm

    I would love to win this for one of my good friends young daughters

  15. April 2, 2017 / 12:12 pm

    My four year old son. They’d be perfect to prepare him a bit for P1 in September.

  16. gemma hendry
    April 2, 2017 / 11:55 am

    would love to win them for my little girl mali

  17. Diana
    April 2, 2017 / 11:43 am

    Would love to win for my daughters :)

  18. Stacey McKernan
    April 2, 2017 / 11:21 am

    I would love to win them for my nephew, they will help him to learn the alphabet while playing.

  19. Theresa Alison
    April 2, 2017 / 11:11 am

    My niece Isabella she is 2 years old xx

  20. Stevie
    April 2, 2017 / 9:26 am

    I’d like to win the blocks for my nephew when he’s a little older.

  21. Carla Mooney
    April 2, 2017 / 8:57 am

    My 3 kids

  22. Cathryn Crawshaw
    April 2, 2017 / 8:39 am

    My daughter Ava

  23. paula cheadle
    April 2, 2017 / 12:07 am

    I would give this to my 3 year old niece

  24. Rich Tyler
    April 1, 2017 / 11:53 pm

    My little man :)

  25. Lucy Carter
    April 1, 2017 / 10:47 pm

    I’d love to win for my class at school

  26. Keshia Esgate
    April 1, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    to help my little nephew to learn!

  27. Em S
    April 1, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    I would love to win for my daughter.

  28. Jenny Harlow
    April 1, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    I’d win for my 10 month old son

  29. Sheri Darby
    April 1, 2017 / 7:03 pm

    My youngest son would love these

  30. Kim Neville
    April 1, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    My son would enjoy playing with these

  31. Carly Belsey
    April 1, 2017 / 5:50 pm

    I would love to win the Alphabet building blocks for my daughter :-)

  32. Rebecca Powell
    April 1, 2017 / 4:58 pm

    My daughter would love this

  33. jessica woods
    April 1, 2017 / 3:41 pm

    I would love to win for my ASD son who is four :)

  34. Jeanette Davison
    April 1, 2017 / 3:36 pm

    My 2 year old grandson would love playing with these when he comes to visit.

  35. sophie williams
    April 1, 2017 / 1:36 pm

    I think all 3 of my children would benefit from these, my eldest has dyslexia and the letter blocks would be fun!

  36. Amanda Norwood
    April 1, 2017 / 10:58 am

    I’d love to win these for my nephews

  37. Edward Guerreiro
    April 1, 2017 / 10:36 am

    They would be for my beautiful niece.

  38. Christel Dance
    April 1, 2017 / 8:45 am

    My sons who are in Year R and preschool.

  39. Pamela Gossage
    April 1, 2017 / 7:34 am

    These would be great for my grandson

  40. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    March 31, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    My nephew. He’d love them!

  41. Tracey Belcher
    March 31, 2017 / 5:04 pm

    For me to play with my grandson with

  42. Katie
    March 31, 2017 / 3:42 pm

    I’d give them to my mum as she always needs toys in for foster children

  43. jemma dwyer
    March 28, 2017 / 9:25 am

    for my little man 😀

  44. JULIE WARD
    March 27, 2017 / 11:12 pm

    Youngest grandson and myself

  45. Kay Lou Smith
    March 26, 2017 / 6:32 pm

    My daughter Sophia would love them :)

  46. Victoria Hall
    March 26, 2017 / 2:42 pm

    I would like to win these for my 3 year old son

  47. Margaret
    March 25, 2017 / 11:06 pm

    My nephew who’s 3 -perfect for learning and fun

  48. lynn savage
    March 25, 2017 / 8:46 pm

    I’d love to win these for my little grandson

  49. Katy Malkin
    March 25, 2017 / 3:53 pm

    Love these for our daughter who is just learning the alphabet and numbers

  50. Joanne Hutchings
    March 24, 2017 / 7:54 pm

    I’d love to win these for my little boy. He’s starting to really enjoy his abc’s.

  51. Solange
    March 24, 2017 / 2:27 am

    I would love these for my daughter.

  52. Harline Parkin
    March 23, 2017 / 4:26 pm

    My grandson William

  53. Claire Sutherland
    March 22, 2017 / 9:08 pm

    I would love to win for my daughter Hana

  54. ADEINNE TONNER
    March 22, 2017 / 5:30 pm

    I would love to win this for my friend as she is starting to teach her son the alphabet so this would be very handy and helpful

  55. March 22, 2017 / 2:31 pm

    For my grandson Teddy, he is 9 months so would get loads of use from the letters.

  56. Jo Carroll
    March 21, 2017 / 9:42 am

    I think my little boy would have lots of fun learning and playing with them. x

  57. EJ Dunn
    March 20, 2017 / 9:36 pm

    I’ll be giving it to my little one when s/he is born

  58. laura banks
    March 20, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    my godson would love them

  59. MANDY DOHERTY
    March 20, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    My grandsons to shared

  60. PAULINE HILL
    March 20, 2017 / 11:32 am

    FOR MY GRANDSON FRASER

  61. Katy Jacobs
    March 20, 2017 / 9:41 am

    Awesome article! Giving some time to our kids to teach them the beauty of life, teach them to be a person and not to be a robot that is always in control by everyone. I learned a lot about parenting and to keep the bond with my children, I hope this also helps. Nice job author!

  62. PenoirB
    March 20, 2017 / 9:28 am

    I’d love to win these for my 10 month old baby girl, gotta start them young!

  63. Sarah Mackay
    March 19, 2017 / 10:06 pm

    I would love this for my daughter Morgan

  64. Elizabeth Hinds
    March 19, 2017 / 9:55 pm

    I would love them for my youngest daughter, Tess :)

  65. Sarah Ann
    March 19, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    I’d love to win for my nephew!

  66. amy bondoc
    March 19, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    id love these for my niece ruby :)

  67. Kevin Honey
    March 19, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    I’d love to win this for my granddaughters

  68. Kerry Taylor
    March 19, 2017 / 8:58 pm

    For my little boy, who’s just turned 2 😀

  69. Dawn Brodribb
    March 19, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    My niece would love this!

  70. Tracey
    March 19, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    I’d love to win these for my inquisitive 2.5 year old Fin

  71. iain maciver
    March 19, 2017 / 7:49 pm

    for my nephew

  72. lucy higgins
    March 19, 2017 / 7:28 pm

    i would love these for my nephew

  73. T Brailey
    March 19, 2017 / 3:38 pm

    I would love to win these for my granddaughter for when she visits.

  74. Katie Skeoch
    March 19, 2017 / 11:14 am

    For my youngest, we would keep them as they’re perfect for learning!

  75. sam rhodes
    March 17, 2017 / 7:50 pm

    I would love to win these for my 4 yr old son :)

  76. Isabel O
    March 14, 2017 / 7:32 pm

    I would like to win them for my niece. :)

  77. emma
    March 13, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    my daughter & youngest son would both love these!

  78. Tracy Nixon
    March 13, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    My youngest daughter would appeciate and benefit from these!

  79. Martina Pichova
    March 13, 2017 / 8:00 pm

    For both of my kids (2 1/2 and almost 6 year old).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *