Review + Giveaway | Shark Bite Game

Toby and Teddy are really into playing games at the moment. They’re going through a phase of actually playing nicely together and I’ve started to make sure that any activities are brother friendly to avoid any bickering. While they can’t yet share their trains, they have been enjoying playing Shark Bite.

shark bite game review games for kids preschool toddlers easy motor skills

I had heard of Shark Bite before but I thought it may have been a little too old for them; Toby’s just turned 4 and Teddy is 2. But do you know what? They absolutely love it and there are so many ways to play the game other than by the rules.

What Is Shark Bite?

Shark Bite is a snappy game with a lot of bite! It’s primarily aimed at children aged 4+ and is designed for 2-4 players.

How Do I Play Shark Bite?

Obviously there are instructions in the box for proper game play but we’ve found so many ways to play with it. The basic idea is that you need to save the fish from the shark’s mouth using a fishing rod before he pops up and snaps his mouth shut. You roll the dice to see how many fish you need to take and the person with the most fish at the end of the game is the winner.

shark bite game review games for kids preschool toddlers easy motor skills inside shark mouth

We played this both with and without the fishing rod although I much preferred it with the fishing rod because I think it really helps getting those fine motor skills going. You have to lower the rod and hook onto a fish and then pull up and it’s that precision that I’m looking for in the boys movements. Toby was pretty good at it although Teddy used a second hand to hold the rod straight so that it wasn’t swinging around as much and he actually did really well at this game too.

The twelve fish come in three colours – red, yellow and green. You can choose any fish you like to pull out or you can test the younger children by asking them to pull out specific colours. And, of course, at the end of the game, you can get them to count up how many fish they managed to pull out and work out who the winner is.

shark bite game review games for kids preschool toddlers easy motor skills

Love Or Loathe Shark Bite?

There are so many things to love about this game, it’s one of the few I actually want to sit and play with the boys because I know there is little chance of an argument breaking out. I love it for the fine motor skill enhancement, the colour recognition and counting opportunities and the best bit? Oh the best bit is that you don’t need batteries because you just pop the mouth back down once it’s snapped. Every parent’s dream!

shark bite game review games for kids preschool toddlers easy motor skills

If I had to pick a negative about the game it’d be that I’d like to see more fish, I think. Twelve is a reasonable amount but it’s no time at all to get the suspense going. I also think I’d like to see a second fishing rod, especially if you have four players.

One thing you do need to know is that you’re given stickers in the pack which are the shark’s eyes and the sides for the dice, but it’s a total non issue and takes seconds to do. Other than that I think it’s an all round great game, it’s a great concept that’s lots of fun and the boys absolutely love it, as do I. If this isn’t on your Christmas list for the kids this year I think you’d be making a mistake!

shark bite game review games for kids preschool toddlers easy motor skills

Win Shark Bite!

I’ve teamed up with Drumond Park to give all of my readers the chance to win their very own game of Shark Bite! Just enter below and good luck! If you can’t wait to see if you’ve won and want to get your hands on this game then check out stockists and all information at Drumond Park and check out their blog and keep up to date with new releases and all the news.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and Conditions

  • This competition will open on 5th October and will close on 22nd October at 11.59pm
  • One winner will be selected at random.
  • One winner will receive ONE Shark Bite game worth £24.99
  • You must be a UK resident aged 18 or over
  • No cash alternative will be offered
  • The winners will be announced on Raising the Rings social media outlets, not the blog and will be contacted by email
  • The winner will have 28 days to respond to their winner’s email.
  • You must enter using AT LEAST one of the entry methods in the Rafflecopter widget above, they are not all mandatory.

*I received this product in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

85 Comments

  1. Natalie Crossan
    October 22, 2017 / 11:51 pm

    Monopoly x

  2. Kate Davies
    October 22, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    Guess who

  3. Tammy Neal
    October 22, 2017 / 10:40 pm

    Gassy cow ever so funny xx

  4. ellie spider
    October 22, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    i love scrabble but its not that family friendly lol

  5. Laura Findlay
    October 22, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    Me and my children like Frustration x

  6. Linda Curtis
    October 22, 2017 / 9:40 pm

    monopoly there are so many different version

  7. Gary Topley
    October 22, 2017 / 9:08 pm

    Game of Life. Thankyou for the competition x

  8. Caroline Blaza
    October 22, 2017 / 8:25 pm

    I love Monopoly x

  9. Deborah Mackenzie
    October 22, 2017 / 7:53 pm

    We love Cluedo.

  10. sarah pearce
    October 22, 2017 / 7:47 pm

    i love monopoly!!! x

  11. Tracy Hanley
    October 22, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    Pop up pirate

  12. October 22, 2017 / 5:43 pm

    We love lots of games connect four, scrabble etc and this would be perfect for our family games night

  13. Leanne Perrett
    October 22, 2017 / 4:42 pm

    we enjoy trivial pursuit in our house

  14. Deborah Clarke
    October 22, 2017 / 3:45 pm

    Myself and the grandkids love playing Dont Wake Dad when im on babysitting duty .

  15. Carly Belsey
    October 22, 2017 / 3:31 pm

    We love 5 second rule. Such a fun game, especially at Christmas. Thank you

  16. paula cheadle
    October 22, 2017 / 2:41 pm

    we love monopoly { all different varieties}

  17. jen jackson
    October 22, 2017 / 2:41 pm

    monopoly

  18. Naila M
    October 22, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    Me and my family loves playing Monopoly :)

  19. Rachel Butler
    October 22, 2017 / 11:37 am

    We love Monopoly! I’m a little too competitive though! Lol ???? xx

  20. Jo Hutchings
    October 22, 2017 / 9:57 am

    I enjoy playing Trivial Pursuits.

  21. Simone Griffin
    October 22, 2017 / 8:45 am

    We love Barbecue Party in our house x

  22. pauline black
    October 22, 2017 / 6:27 am

    star wars monopoly at the moment!

  23. Maureen millward
    October 21, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    I like trivial pursuit

  24. Thomas Buchanan
    October 21, 2017 / 8:48 pm

    monopoly

  25. Patricia Avery
    October 21, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    Twenty Questions :)

  26. Mel Turner
    October 21, 2017 / 8:41 pm

    Monopoly

  27. Rachael Sexey
    October 21, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    Game of life ????

  28. October 21, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    This is on Lils Christmas List! Amazing giveaway it looks fab love the vlog. My favourite game is Scrabble x

  29. Becky Duffy
    October 21, 2017 / 2:26 pm

    Connect 4 is my favourite!

  30. Sherrill todd
    October 21, 2017 / 9:05 am

    Love playing frustration

  31. Sanam Ali
    October 21, 2017 / 1:14 am

    My family like to play Crayola Doodle Delirium

  32. Kayleigh Robinson
    October 20, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    Articulate! Love playing it with the family

  33. Jo Carroll
    October 20, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    Operation…seriously I should have been a surgeon – I would be rich now! 😉

  34. Paula Phillips
    October 20, 2017 / 8:28 pm

    Cluedo.

  35. emma walters
    October 20, 2017 / 7:09 am

    twister :)

  36. Samantha milner
    October 20, 2017 / 12:13 am

    We love scrabble in our house

  37. James Donovan
    October 19, 2017 / 10:27 pm

    Trivial Pursuits is my favourite game. I loves quizzes

  38. sarah rowland
    October 19, 2017 / 8:00 pm

    i enjoy loads of the games my kids have from toilet trouble to dont wake dad, its just nice to play along with them

  39. Heather Hibbert
    October 19, 2017 / 7:32 pm

    We’ve been loving the new Labrynth board game recently!

  40. Yolande Smith
    October 19, 2017 / 5:20 pm

    Can just imagine the Grandkids squealing with laughter playing this

  41. PAULINE HILL
    October 19, 2017 / 4:48 pm

    WE LOVE PLAYING Connect 4

  42. Stacey Carnell
    October 19, 2017 / 4:10 pm

    I love operation :)

  43. francis lee
    October 19, 2017 / 4:01 pm

    I love playing chess

  44. Christina Curtis
    October 19, 2017 / 1:26 pm

    Guess Who

  45. Rich Tyler
    October 19, 2017 / 12:58 pm

    Guess Who!

  46. rebecca smith
    October 19, 2017 / 9:51 am

    Ooo I’ve always loved Twister

  47. Sarah Lee
    October 19, 2017 / 9:45 am

    Pop up pirate

  48. Emma Whitworth
    October 18, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    I love monopoly

  49. Sidrah Ahmed
    October 18, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    Connect 4

  50. Corinne Henson
    October 18, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    Pictionary is mine :)

  51. Katie
    October 18, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Monopoly

  52. Alana Walker
    October 18, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    Trivial Pursuit

  53. Lucy B
    October 18, 2017 / 7:27 pm

    we love the game of operation.

  54. Heather Morrison
    October 18, 2017 / 6:10 pm

    We’ve recently introduced our son to Buckaroo so that’s currently our favourite family game xx

  55. Nicola Dow
    October 18, 2017 / 4:06 pm

    Operation.

  56. Corinne Wright
    October 18, 2017 / 4:03 pm

    Love Monoply! Such a classic ????

  57. Andrea Duffell
    October 18, 2017 / 2:39 pm

    Preface!

  58. Amanda Baggott
    October 18, 2017 / 2:28 pm

    Monopoly!

  59. christine shelley
    October 18, 2017 / 2:17 pm

    Cluedo

  60. Astrid Charrier
    October 18, 2017 / 2:12 pm

    monopoly

  61. Becky Yeomans
    October 18, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    I love Cluedo!

  62. J Mackenzie
    October 18, 2017 / 1:25 pm

    We’re loving pie face!

  63. chelsey hollings
    October 18, 2017 / 1:10 pm

    Monopoly

  64. Kate Pope
    October 18, 2017 / 12:46 pm

    I’ve always loved Cluedo since I was a little girl.

  65. Sam parkes
    October 18, 2017 / 12:44 pm

    Monopoly and frustration we play regularly

  66. Amy Wright
    October 18, 2017 / 12:37 pm

    I love Articulate….it’s so funny

  67. stuart hragreaves
    October 18, 2017 / 12:36 pm

    snakes and ladders — its all up and downs

  68. S Edwards
    October 18, 2017 / 12:31 pm

    Simpsons cluedo

  69. Sarah Mackay
    October 18, 2017 / 12:29 pm

    I enjoy Banagrams

  70. Kim Neville
    October 15, 2017 / 10:41 am

    We like Dobble

  71. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    October 14, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    I loved “Dream Phone” was I was younger – ha ha … and Mouse trap! We play Simpsons Monopoly a lot now … x

  72. Leanne Lunn
    October 9, 2017 / 11:02 pm

    I love a game of operation.

  73. Jade Hewlett
    October 8, 2017 / 4:58 pm

    Monopoly

  74. laura banks
    October 8, 2017 / 12:11 pm

    monopoly but we do always bicker

  75. October 6, 2017 / 12:32 pm

    This is top of the girls list for games for christmas! We love playing Igloo Mania where you have to try and get the bricks out before the igloo collapses!

  76. Solange
    October 6, 2017 / 1:18 am

    Monopoly.

  77. Kim Styles
    October 5, 2017 / 5:39 pm

    Cluedo is a firm favourite with us

  78. abigail edkins
    October 5, 2017 / 1:09 pm

    we still love a game of mousetrap

  79. kelly L
    October 5, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    We play a lot of junior monopoly in our house!

  80. Ren Taylor
    October 5, 2017 / 12:24 pm

    My favourite game is called Totopoly (by the makers of Monopoly) but my family hate it as its complicated and longwinded lol…..hopefully we would have more fun with this and my 4 year old nephew would love it…I’m sure x

  81. Anthony Harrington
    October 5, 2017 / 8:07 am

    we are enjoying Frustration at the moment!

  82. Tracy Nixon
    October 5, 2017 / 7:49 am

    I enjoy Scrabble!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *