Review + Giveaway | Time To #ComeClean With Seventh Generation

I don’t think it’s any coincidence that both Seventh Generation and I were ‘born’ in the same year. It’s almost like our paths were destined to cross. These guys are new to the UK and are here to shake up our household market. Now, us Brits are defiantly stubborn and like to ‘stick to what we know’ blah blah blah… but sometimes.. just sometimes you have to take a chance on something.

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan

Getting To Know Seventh Generation

With 28 years experience under their metaphorical belt Seventh Generation are a household name in the USA. They’re constantly questioning what they can do to make our planet a greener, nicer and more eco-friendly place to live in. Off the back of the Earth Overshoot Day report I saw today I really feel like I should be doing my bit to ensure that my children, and children around the world, should inherit the best kind of Earth possible upon our departure. Things like this are part of the unknown to me but I think it’s great to be able to explore different ways of living and with an imminent house move coming up we might as well start as we mean to go on – we’ve already got solar panels on the new house so that’s given us a little boost already!

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan

For me, Seventh Generation aren’t just about the cleaning – I’ll come on to that in a second – but it’s about the type of company they are, their ethics and their ethos. They believe in using the power of business to transform society. They’re founding members of B Corp and are a certified B Corporation which means they’re mindful of how they do business. They are accountable, transparent and take into consideration the social and environmental performance and do this by meeting rigorous standards.

Cleaning With Seventh Generation

I’ll admit my cleaning cupboard is full of products that have been on offer, things that smell good or are just plain filled with chemicals. The problem is that there are usually so many to choose from. I want ones that do the job properly, I like my house smelling clean but after using Seventh Generation, and knowing more about their company, I think a well fragranced loo is something I can live without. I mean, there are other ways to make things smell good, right?

‘Green’ cleaning is not something I’ve ever thought about before if I’m honest. I’ve not grown up in a particularly environmentally conscious surrounding and the thought has only ever fleetingly crossed my mind. However, after recent news and thinking about our family carbon footprint it’s definitely an avenue I want to explore. Had Seventh Generation not asked me to review the products or, at the very least, made me aware of their presence I’d have been none the wiser.

The Seventh Generation products sent to me consisted of several easy household items that would be more than easy to change. After checking out the price they’re not entirely above average, although some bits you do pay a bit more for, but do you know what? I kind of feel ok with that because I feel like I’m investing that money into the greater good. This company doesn’t test on animals either so that, teamed with the fact that they’re actively ensuring the welfare of workers, their communities and the environment, it’s a huge positive.

What Are Seventh Generation Products Like?

Having made some gradual swaps over the last week or two I can honestly say they are just as powerful as the chemical laden products we currently use. I was initially super sceptical about how well these plant-based products would stand up to my ‘go to’ products and I was left eating my words. Despite these products also being dye-free, containing no artificial brighteners and all the other nasties that go into our every day cleaning products these things WORK! The only gripe I have about them is that they’re not explicitly anti-bacterial.

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan washing up dish liquid lavender and mint

As a family who were exposed to quite a few weeks of sickness at the end of last year and the beginning of this one I’m so, so conscious that the things we use, at the very least, kill germs. We just simply can not afford for too many to enter our home, especially with Toby starting school and Teddy starting nursery in September. Aside from that, when we move house next week we’ll be doing the big clean before it goes on to its new owners. I’m actually excited to get into every nook and cranny. I digress.

The natural dish liquid (lavender and mint) smells good and leaves our washing up clean. Some things did need a little extra soaking but that happens even with a very well known brand of washing up liquid. There weren’t loads and loads of suds but that’s fine with me and I’m happily using this in my kitchen!

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan glass and surface cleaner

There are two types of spray cleaner; all purpose and then a glass and surface cleaner. The all purpose cleaner does exactly what it says on the tin and didn’t leave any residual smell which was actually really nice. I don’t like fruity sideboards or savoury wipe clean tablecloths. I’ll admit that I just use baby wipes when it comes to wiping down any surface (yes, I’m one of those mums) but have since replaced it with the all purpose cleaner and dishcloth and find that it works much better. The glass and surface cleaner is literally one of the best things since sliced bread. I am forever trying to keep the kids and their mitts off of my patio doors but there’s always a nice chocolate hand print or the outline of some nose and lips where they’ve been pressed up against it. One little spray and wipe and it’s streak free and removes the ‘artwork. The best thing about both of these cleaners is that, because they don’t contain any harsh chemicals, they’re safe around kids and pets too!

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan toilet cleaner

The Seventh Generation toilet bowl natural cleaner is exactly that. It’s super powerful and has brought the bottom of our toilet bowls up a treat. I usually have to use white vinegar to get any stains to move, even with regular cleaning. And finally there’s the laundry detergent. I don’t usually use a liquid detergent, I tend to keep it to powders and so forth. I don’t really know why, but it’s probably because I have previously stuck with what I know and all I’ve ever known is powder.

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan

Both the concentrate and double concentrate detergents are labelled as ‘free and clear’ and upon looking at the ingredients they are! I love that Seventh Generation are really transparent about what their formulas consist of and it’s certainly an education for all of us. They clean just as well as chemical based detergents, powder ones too, but there are no smells. While I don’t mind laundry that doesn’t particularly smell of anything, I prefer something scented so I’d love to try the natural scented detergents in the future.

Not only are these products free of fragrance they are absolutely perfect for those who suffer with sensitive skin, or those who react badly to chemicals unknown.

Seventh Generation Are Forward Thinking

Not only are Seventh Generation environmentally conscious when it comes to their formulas it literally transcends throughout the whole of the brand. Their packaging is all eco-friendly and totally recyclable and their work ethics and ethos, as described above, sound second to none.

Not only does their ‘free and clear’ ethos apply to laundry and household products it also goes for baby products such as nappies and wipes as well as feminine care. I genuinely can’t wait to see how they’re going to expand on this but I’m sure that whatever comes our way in the next few years will be conscientious and well thought out.

Want To Win Your Own Bundle?

I’ve teamed up with Seventh Generation to offer THREE lucky readers the chance to win their very own bundle of cleaning products. Just enter below. Good luck!

seventh generation review and giveaway green cleaning products household eco environmentally friendly chemical free clear laundry plant based vegan

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms And Conditions

  • This competition will open on 8th August and will close on 27th August at 11.59pm
  • Three winners will be selected at random.
  • Three winners will EACH receive a bundle of Seventh Generation cleaning products
  • The cleaning bundle will consist of the following; 1x natural dish liquid, 1 x all-purpose natural cleaner, 1 x glass and surface natural cleaner, 1 x toilet bowl natural cleaner, 1 x free & clear 4x concentrate natural laundry detergent and 1 x free & clear natural laundry detergent
  • UK residents only
  • No cash alternative will be offered
  • The winners will be announced on Raising the Rings social media outlets, not the blog and will be contacted by email
  • The winner will have 28 days to respond to their winner’s email.

*This is a collaborative post where the products were also sent in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

119 Comments

  1. Natalie Crossan
    August 26, 2017 / 11:58 pm

    The natural dish liquid

  2. Andrea A
    August 26, 2017 / 11:00 pm

    I’d like to try the natural dish liquid.

  3. Karen Richards
    August 26, 2017 / 10:43 pm

    The toilet bowl cleaner to keep my loo sparkly clean

  4. Kelly Simpson
    August 26, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    The Natral dish liquid

  5. carrie wilford
    August 26, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    would love to try the Laundry Detergent

  6. carrie wilford
    August 26, 2017 / 9:33 pm

    i would love to try the Laundry Detergent

  7. Rachel B
    August 26, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    the laundry detergent

  8. Kay Sherman
    August 26, 2017 / 8:37 pm

    The washing up liquid looks great

  9. frances hopkins
    August 26, 2017 / 8:04 pm

    The toilet cleaner

  10. Sam parkes
    August 26, 2017 / 7:49 pm

    The laundry detergent I would love to try.

  11. Sylvia Paul
    August 26, 2017 / 7:21 pm

    I would like to try the all purpose natural cleaner x

  12. Sarah Parker
    August 26, 2017 / 6:29 pm

    the toilet cleaner :)

  13. Sarah Armstrong
    August 26, 2017 / 5:40 pm

    Love to try the ALL PURPOSE NATURAL CLEANER

  14. August 26, 2017 / 4:55 pm

    The all purpose natural cleaner. Loving the ethical values

  15. Melanie Burton
    August 26, 2017 / 4:43 pm

    I would love to try the All Purpuse Spray Cleaner

  16. donna l jones
    August 26, 2017 / 2:13 pm

    the lavender and mint spray

  17. Rebecca Mercer
    August 26, 2017 / 12:36 pm

    The washing up liquid

  18. Emma H
    August 26, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    I’d like to try the natural dish liquid.

  19. Avril Randall
    August 26, 2017 / 12:05 pm

    I would like to try the toilet cleaner.

  20. Jo Hutchings
    August 26, 2017 / 10:20 am

    I’d most like to try the all-purpose spray cleaner.

  21. Ellie Bevan
    August 26, 2017 / 10:03 am

    the toilet cleaner – with 2 boys its a never-ending battle

  22. james rowlands
    August 26, 2017 / 9:41 am

    The all purpose cleaner

  23. Rachael O'Brien
    August 26, 2017 / 9:15 am

    I’d like to try the glass cleaner as my toddler always at my windows !

  24. amanda greensmith
    August 26, 2017 / 12:32 am

    all purpose cleaner

  25. Jenny Jones
    August 25, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    The all purpose natural cleaner as it would be nice without all those added chemicals

  26. Hayley Todd
    August 25, 2017 / 5:25 pm

    I really like the sound of this product range. I really relate to cleaning products that are ethical sourced, natural and organic. I would most like to try the Eucalyptus & Lavender Natural Washing Liquid.

  27. ElizM
    August 25, 2017 / 4:25 pm

    the lavender and mint spray sounds nice

  28. Kim M
    August 25, 2017 / 1:02 pm

    The All Purpose Cleaner x

  29. Leanne jones
    August 25, 2017 / 10:41 am

    I would really like to try the washing up liquid.
    In abit of a washing up liquid snob and I only use fairy. This would be wonderful to try and convert to a company that is better for the environment too.

  30. Katie
    August 25, 2017 / 10:13 am

    Multi purpose cleaner

  31. Charlie Lovatt
    August 25, 2017 / 10:12 am

    The toilet cleaner, I hate filling our sewage systems with harsh chemicals

  32. lynn neal
    August 24, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    The washing up liquid

  33. caroline tokes
    August 24, 2017 / 3:43 pm

    The lavender and mint washing up liquid love lavender its m fav smell ever

  34. jen jackson
    August 24, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    The laundry detergant

  35. Pamela Gossage
    August 24, 2017 / 11:18 am

    The lavender and mint washing up liquid. I love the smell of Lavender

  36. MANDY DOHERTY
    August 23, 2017 / 10:27 pm

    I would like to try the All Purpose Cleaner

  37. Katy Malkin
    August 23, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    The washing up liquid as I get dry hands

  38. Jenny Prest
    August 23, 2017 / 9:57 am

    Id love to give the all purpose cleaner a go!

  39. Sheila Reeves
    August 22, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    Would really like to try the Seventh Generation toilet bowl natural cleaner – so many of these types of cleaners are not good fro the water system

  40. Jayne Townson
    August 22, 2017 / 8:22 pm

    I would love to try the he natural dish liquid (lavender and mint), it sounds lovely for washing the dishes. Thanks for the giveaway.

  41. ADEINNE TONNER
    August 22, 2017 / 7:31 pm

    I think it would have to be the laundry detergent

  42. Kate Davies
    August 22, 2017 / 5:48 pm

    The natural laundry detergent as my son suffers with eczema.

  43. lorraine kirk
    August 22, 2017 / 3:31 pm

    I’d like to try the laundry detergent.

  44. Rich Tyler
    August 22, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    All Purpose Cleaner :)

  45. Tracey Peach
    August 22, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    the toilet cleaner I’m always on the look out for good cleaning products that are friendly

  46. STACY SORRELL
    August 22, 2017 / 10:37 am

    The Glass Cleaner x

  47. STACY SORRELL
    August 22, 2017 / 10:37 am

    The glass cleaner

  48. Emma Louise Elliott
    August 22, 2017 / 7:33 am

    I would really love to try the laundry detergent xxx

  49. Diane Carey
    August 21, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    I would most like to try the laundry detergent

  50. emma walters
    August 21, 2017 / 8:14 am

    the All Purpose Natural Cleaner would be great!

  51. Sheri Darby
    August 19, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    I’d love to try the laundry detergent

  52. Carole Nott
    August 19, 2017 / 3:51 pm

    i would like to try the all purpose spray cleaner which looks very useful

  53. Stephanie Keill
    August 19, 2017 / 10:06 am

    I’d love to try the natural dish liquid, sounds fantastic

  54. Gary Foster
    August 18, 2017 / 6:58 pm

    I think for me it would be the all purpose natural cleaner…..who doesn’t want one cleaner for everything

  55. Tracey Belcher
    August 17, 2017 / 5:48 pm

    I would really like to try the clear / glass cleaner

  56. Stevie
    August 17, 2017 / 9:51 am

    I would try the glass and surface cleaner for the upstairs windows and in the car.

  57. Naila M
    August 15, 2017 / 5:59 pm

    I would love to try the Seventh generation natural dish liquid powerful clean. Love the smell of lavender and mint x

  58. jacqui rankine
    August 15, 2017 / 5:29 pm

    I would like to try the all purpose cleaner

  59. Barry Hull
    August 15, 2017 / 2:43 pm

    Natural dish liquid..sounds amazing

  60. katrina walsh
    August 14, 2017 / 10:57 pm

    The all purpose natural cleaner sounds great to me

  61. Carol Thomas
    August 13, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    I would like to try the all purpose cleaner

  62. Laureen Timms
    August 12, 2017 / 9:28 pm

    The all purpose natural cleaner would be my choice

  63. Laureen Timms
    August 12, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    The all purpose natural cleaner

  64. lynn savage
    August 12, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    The lavendar and mint washing up liquid, sounds like it will smell great

  65. Kim Neville
    August 12, 2017 / 2:45 pm

    Would like to try the glass and surface cleaner

  66. jemma dwyer
    August 11, 2017 / 10:15 pm

    The all purpose cleaner

  67. Rebecca Sutton
    August 11, 2017 / 7:11 pm

    i would like to try the toilet cleaner.

  68. Simone Griffin
    August 11, 2017 / 5:29 pm

    The liquid detergent x

  69. Anneka Avery
    August 11, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    I would love to try the toilet cleaner! I live that these are plant based ????????

  70. August 11, 2017 / 9:58 am

    We’ve tried the washing detergent recently, I was pleasantly surprised that it worked just as well as our usual one! There are so many detergents that I can’t use because they irritate my skin so it’s brilliant to find something I don’t react to. I’d love to try more of their products!

  71. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 10, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    I would love to try the all purpose cleaner, with three messy children and a fiancé who is just as bad this would be perfect xXx

  72. Claire Nutman
    August 10, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    The natural dish liquid, thanks !

  73. John Tingay
    August 10, 2017 / 7:36 pm

    I want to try the glass cleaner – still looking for one that is easy to use AND streak free.

  74. August 10, 2017 / 3:33 pm

    I’d never heard of seventh generation before but will be looking into changing brands now to try this!

  75. August 10, 2017 / 11:23 am

    I tend to buy eco friendly products, but hadn’t come across these people before

  76. Joanne Beale
    August 10, 2017 / 11:07 am

    The laundry detergent as my husband has sensitive skin

  77. Sheena Batey
    August 10, 2017 / 9:58 am

    The spray glass cleaner is the one I would like to try out the most

  78. Sue McCarthy
    August 10, 2017 / 8:17 am

    The Washing Up Liquid

  79. sarah m
    August 9, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    these products look great, particularly the all purpose cleaner!

  80. amanda walsh
    August 9, 2017 / 11:07 pm

    definitely, the laundry detergent as my gang have super sensitive skin

  81. Margaret gallagher
    August 9, 2017 / 10:18 pm

    All purpose cleaner for me

  82. Andrea Fletcher
    August 9, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    The laundry detergent.

  83. Carole E
    August 9, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    The laundry detergent

  84. Michelle smith
    August 9, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    All purpose cleaner

  85. laura stewart
    August 9, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    The all purpose cleaner

  86. iain maciver
    August 9, 2017 / 7:31 pm

    The all purpose cleaner

  87. Kevin Honey
    August 9, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    I’d like to try the All Purpose Cleaner

  88. Ashleigh Allan
    August 9, 2017 / 4:53 pm

    The all purpose cleaner

  89. Karen Barrett
    August 9, 2017 / 2:10 pm

    I would love to try the All Purpose Natural Cleaner

  90. Jo Carroll
    August 9, 2017 / 10:57 am

    The Lavender and Mint dish liquid sounds a little different…I love Lavender so it would be a treat to get a smell of it doing the daily dishes. x

  91. Iris W
    August 9, 2017 / 8:40 am

    The All Purpose Natural Cleaner but they all look great

  92. Vicki D
    August 9, 2017 / 1:49 am

    I’d really love to try the detergent

  93. rebecca h
    August 9, 2017 / 12:12 am

    I’d love to try the glass cleaner! always end up with smears otherwise

  94. Solange
    August 8, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    I’d like to try the All Purpose Natural Cleaner.

  95. Chris Targowski
    August 8, 2017 / 10:05 pm

    All purpose natural cleaner definitely, I bet it smells great too

  96. August 8, 2017 / 9:38 pm

    I have come across this brand before and they seem fab! I love how environmentally friendly they are. As a family, we are making swaps in our lives to be greener and this seems fab!

  97. laura banks
    August 8, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    the all purpose cleaner

  98. Sidrah Ahmed
    August 8, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    concentrate natural laundry detergent

  99. Kayleigh Watkins
    August 8, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    I would love to try the all purpose cleaner xxx

  100. Alison Johnson
    August 8, 2017 / 7:29 pm

    The toilet bowl cleaner. Hate the bleach smell we currently live with when cleaning the toilet.

  101. August 8, 2017 / 7:26 pm

    The lavender and mint dish liquid as I like interesting scents for washing the dishes with.

  102. Kim Styles
    August 8, 2017 / 5:42 pm

    The Seventh Generation toilet bowl natural cleaner – that is always the test of a good product

  103. Pauline Hill
    August 8, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    the All purpose cleaner is the one i would like to try

  104. Pauline Hill
    August 8, 2017 / 5:23 pm

    the All purpose cleaner

  105. Jean Cassell
    August 8, 2017 / 5:02 pm

    The laundry detergent

  106. Helen Tovell
    August 8, 2017 / 4:06 pm

    The Seventh Generation toilet bowl natural cleaner

  107. Helen Rodwell
    August 8, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    The natural dish liquid.

  108. Hali kinson
    August 8, 2017 / 2:24 pm

    All purpose cleaner

  109. August 8, 2017 / 1:57 pm

    I’d not heard of Seventh Generation before. Lovely to be introduced to a company with such a positive ethos

  110. August 8, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    I’m so happy to see 7th generation on the UK market now. We always try to buy green and non toxic wherever we can. I’ve been using the 7th generation laundry detergent from the Blog On goody bag for a few weeks now and I’m really happy with it. Looking forward to trying more of their products.

  111. stuart hargreaves
    August 8, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    The natural dish liquid, don’t have a dishwasher apart from me manually

  112. amy bondoc
    August 8, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    the all purpose cleanser :)

  113. Sarah Mackay
    August 8, 2017 / 1:15 pm

    The natural dish liquid

  114. Amelia Kennedy
    August 8, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    The All Purpose Natural Cleaner would be my choice x

  115. Suzanne Jackson
    August 8, 2017 / 12:00 pm

    The all-purpose cleaner

  116. Heather Haigh
    August 8, 2017 / 11:52 am

    The natural dish liquid

  117. Tracy Nixon
    August 8, 2017 / 11:37 am

    I’d love to try their All Purpose Natural Cleaner!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *