Review | Degustabox August 2017

After a hectic month things are finally starting to slow down, although that doesn’t mean there’s less to do. We’ve still got a mound to do around the house so it’s been really important for me to do things at a slower pace before I totally burn myself out. One thing that Jamie and I both love to do is unbox our monthly Degustabox delivery. Not only does it usually include some ridiculously yummy snacks, but it’s like a little piece of Christmas every month, especially when you know there’s going to be food and quite possibly some drink. Let’s take a look at this month’s box and don’t forget the discount code at the bottom!

This month’s theme is ‘Back To School’ and there are some fine bits and bobs in here which will be great for lunch boxes, snacks and plenty of refreshments for parents too!

Seabrook Crisps, £1.00

I remember being at school and taking a packed lunch most days. There would always, always be a packet of crisps without fail. Toby often has a packet of crisps most days but I do like to change it up. He likes Pom Bears, Walkers and French Fries but Seabrook crisps have come out with their variety pack! The original crinkle cut crisp comes in three popular flavours; salt and vinegar, cheese and onion and sea salt. Toby’s favourite flavour would probably be cheese and onion with Teddy’s being salt and vinegar.

degustabox review august 2017 seabrook crisps original flavours classic

Bahlsen PICK UP! Black ‘N’ White, £1.69

Perfect for lunch boxes and my hand bag! These are seriously delicious and I could probably eat the whole lot in one go if I really ‘tried’. White chocolate is sandwiched between two chocolate flavoured biscuits and then individually wrapped for ease. We’ve had to put them in the top cupboard out of the way of the kids….

Refreshers Softies, £1.00

I love Refreshers and have done ever since I was a kid. They are fantastically chewy and a nightmare to get out of your teeth. However, those troubles are no more with Refreshers new Softies.

degustabox review august 2017 bahlsen pickup black n white sandwich chocolate bars dairy milk toffee nut big taste refreshers softies retro classic

They’ve still got the same fizziness but are much softer; a great twist on the classic bar. Go and get some!

Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee Whole Nut, £0.65

I’ll admit, this doesn’t sound like my kind of chocolate bar and so I haven’t opened it yet. Typically these come in huge “sharing” bars but now they’re available in single, on-the-go size packets. Jamie has been eyeing this up ever since it came out of the box, but that’s the same with all the chocolate in this house. Maybe I should just add it to my secret stash next time?

Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise, £1.69

Also known as ‘white dip dip’ in this house, mayonnaise is a staple on the kid’s dinner plates most nights. Hellmann’s mayonnaise has never failed to disappoint and is super versatile too. If you can cram in a last minute Summer BBQ then make sure this dressing is readily available, otherwise get it in the kid’s sandwiches for school or nursery. Made using 100% free range egg and sustainably sourced oils, the taste of Hellmann’s is second to none! Did you know that mayonnaise has officially outsold ketchup for the first time in the UK? There’s a good reason for that you know!

JellySqueeze, £0.99

Forget the kids, squeezy jelly in a pouch is a great snack for adults. They’re refreshing and resealable which makes them perfect for on-the-go people. Not only are they gluten and lactose free, they’re suitable for vegans, vegetarians and are school compliant. I love the flavours of these and they’re less than 80 calories a pouch.

degustabox review august 2017 jelly squeeze lunchbox snack for kids ideas low calorie adult snacks

Light Bites Popped Chips, £0.99

This month we got two packs of these; sweet and smoky chipotle and pesto and sun-dried tomato. Forget potato chips because these popped chips are made from soya and chickpeas and are then generously flavoured. I’ll admit I didn’t think I was going to like these because typically store branded chips like this are poorly flavoured or are like cardboard or both. These were neither of those and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked them. With under 100 calories per pack they’re gluten free, veggie friendly and are packed with fibre and protein. Head to Superdrug to pick up a pack!

Maggi Fusian Noodles, £1.39

I love, love, love noodles! Give me chow mein, pot noodles, stir fries and all that kind of jazz and I will wolf it down. However, I’m watching what I eat at the moment and while these Maggi fusian noodles are incredibly tasty they’re incredibly calorific. We were sent two flavours; sticky hoisin duck (yum!) and fiery sweet chilli. These packs are meant to serve two, but we all know that’s never going to happen. I can’t see how half a pack would ever make much of a meal to be honest (or maybe that’s just me!). They’re definitely great as a one off here and there but I don’t know if I could justify using up so many calories on these guys because they’re not that filling.

degustabox review august 2017 maggi fusian noodles

Twisted Halo – Coconut Water, Ginger & Vodka, £1.50

Did somebody say vodka? Oh YAS! With no added sugar or sweeteners this sweet coconut flavoured alcoholic drink goes down nicely at the end of the day. It’s ready to serve, preferably over ice, and has the warmth of ginger and a hint of lime. Best served chilled and when the kids are in bed. This is a great drink to end the week or begin the weekend with!

degustabox review august 2017 twisted halo coconut water ginger lime vodka 90 calories low calorie alcoholic drink

Tabasco Green Pepper Sauce, £1.89

Forget the Tabasco sauce you normally know and check out the new green pepper sauce. This flavour is less hot, more tangy and gives you kicks in all the right places. Made from mild green jalapeño peppers mixed with vinegar and salt this is a must have for any Mexican food lover. But don’t stop there, try it on everything; seafood, dressings, fruit and obviously in your cocktails!

degustabox review august 2017 tabasco green pepper sauce

Orangina Summer Bottles, £1.20

When we got these out Jamie was over the moon that he’d be able to have ‘Gin-gina’ again. Orangina has that unmistakeable orange flavour and with the real citrus pulp and soft sparkle it’s the perfect Summer drink. Mix with gin for best results, or vodka, or just on it’s own! The light version is divine too with no compromise on the good old Orangina flavour.

degustabox review august 2017 orangina light summer gingina cocktail

Cadbury Curlywurly Squirlies, £1.99

I’d love to say these were incredible because Curlywurly bars are amazing… but I only got round to eating three out of this whole pack. Why’s that you ask? Because they were “so good I couldn’t stop eating them” says Jamie, the man who has denied me most of this packet. I was actually really cross with him (still am!) that he didn’t even let me photograph one of them before he got them down his neck.

degustabox review august 2017 curlywurly squirlies classic chocolate retro sharing bag

Anyway, these are bitesize Curlywurly bars. A huge classic, family favourite and, from the three I had, were still as delicious as the big bar. So much for a “sharing” bag, eh?

Don’t forget, for a £7 discount on your first box use code ‘DMTF4’.Woop woop!

*We were sent this product in return for a review. All views and opinions are my own.

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *